National Child Award for Exceptional Achievement

 The National Child Award for Exceptional Achievement was instituted in 1996 to give recognition to the children with exceptional abilities and who have achieved outstanding status in various fields including academics, arts, culture and sports etc.. Children of or above the age of 9 and not exceeding 16 years (as on 31 July, of respective year) who have shown an exceptional achievement in any field including academics, arts, culture and sports and innovations  etc. are eligible for this award. One Gold Medal and 35 silver Medals (one for each State/UT) are to be given annually

The Awards for the child with exceptional achievement shall consists of :-

(A)   Gold Medal 1 (One)

(i)                 A cash prize of Rs.20, 000/-

(ii)                A Book Voucher of Rs. 10,000/-

(iii)               A Citation and certificates, and

(iv)               A Gold Medal

(B)   Silver Medals 35 (Thirty five)

(i)                  Award money @ Rs.10,000/- for each awardee.

(ii)                  A Book Voucher of Rs. 3,000/-

(iii)                A citation and certificate for each awardee, and

(iv)               A Silver Medal for each awardee.

Applications of children for this Award should be recommended by the State Government/UT Administration, any Department of Government of India, District Authority, local authority or voluntary organization.  The last date for submission of nominations for each year is 31st  August. 

National Award for Child Welfare


In order to encourage the voluntary sector, the Government of India in 1979 started a scheme of giving National Awards to deserving institutions and individuals for their outstanding performance in the field of child welfare.  The Scheme was started with a view to give recognition to such voluntary action.  Each year five institutions and three individuals are honoured with this prestigious Award.   The National Award for Child Welfare includes the following:

        Cash prize of Rs. 3 lakh for each institution

        Rs. 1 lakh for each individual and

         A certificate for each institution and individual. 

The applications for the Awards are received through State Governments. The last date for receiving nominations is 31st   July of each year.

Rajiv Gandhi Manav Seva Award

In pursuance of its policy to support and encourage voluntary action and in memory of Late Prime Minister Shri Rajiv Gandhi, the Ministry of Women and Child Development, Government of India instituted the Rajiv Gandhi Manav Sewa Award for Service to Children in 1994 to honour an individual who makes outstanding contribution towards service for children.  The number of Awards increased to three in the fields of Child Welfare, Child Development and Child Protection from 2006.  The Award carries the following:

        A cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh,

        A silver plaque and

        A citation. 

 Applications for the Award are received through the State Government and the last date for receiving applications is 31st July every year.